Bai Xian Asia Institute (BXAI), an educational platform set up to provide scholarships and intercultural learning programs, is funded by Bai Xian Education Foundation (BXEF), a private family foundation incorporated in Hong Kong and established exclusively for charitable purposes.

BXAI evolved from the vision of its founder and Honorary Chairman, Mr. Ronald Chao. Since its founding, Mr. Chao has contributed US$100 million to the Asian Future Leaders Scholarship Program (AFLSP).

Our Five Founding Members are:
  • Ms. Ronna Chao
  • Mr. David Mong
  • Mr. Shinichiro Watari
  • Mr. K. T. Chao
  • Mr. Masaaki Ogino
BXAI Endowment Fund

BXAI’s five founding members have contributed US$10 million in aggregate to the BXAI Endowment Fund.  The Fund aims to support up to five named scholarships every year in perpetuity.

Named scholars since 2015 include:

R.J. Chao Memorial Scholars (sponsored by Ms. Ronna Chao):

2015 cohort: Ms. TANG An
2017 cohort: Ms. KIM Daum
2019 cohort: Ms. ROH Hyunjeong
2020 cohort:Mr. TAN Yuan Zeng Ashley


Shun Hing Asian Scholars (sponsored by Mr. David Mong):

2015 cohort: Mr. KO Hae Uk
2017 cohort: Mr. CHOU Hou In
2019 cohort: Mr. LAU Yick Sau
2020 cohort:Mr. PEI Yu-De


Pao-Watari Asian Scholars (sponsored by Mr. Shinichiro Watari):

2015 cohort: Mr. Fumiaki SANO
2017 cohort: Mr. Yasutaka TAMURA
2019 cohort: Mr. Nanshi KO
2020 cohort:Mr. Hiromi KIMISHIMA


K.T. Chao Asian Scholars (sponsored by Mr. K.T. Chao):

2015 cohort: Mr. WU Siyu
2017 cohort: Ms. LIAO Manqi
2019 cohort: Ms. ZHANG Haiyun
2020 cohort:Mr. FUNG Joshua Sze Kiun


Mio Asian Scholars (sponsored by Mr. Masaaki Ogino):

2015 cohort: Mr. Tetsuo KAN
2017 cohort: Mr. Hideo NATSUME
2019 cohort: Mr. Takayuki MORIKAWA
2020 cohort:Ms. Kosumosu NAKAHARA