The Academic Committee is comprised of the president and a team of professors and academic consultants.  The Committee works together to guide the quality and delivery of the Asian Future Leaders Scholarship Program, assist with developing scholarship criteria and eligibility requirements, review candidates for scholarships, and evaluate results.

Professor Katsuichi UCHIDA

President, BXAI
Senior Advisor and Professor Emeritus, Waseda University
Board Advisor, US-Japan Research Institute

Professor Katsuichi UCHIDA is Senior Advisor of Waseda University.  Before assuming the current position, he served as Vice President for International Affairs from 2006 to 2014.  He holds a B.A. in Law from Waseda’s School of Law, and later earned an M.A. and completed postgraduate study in the Graduate School of Law.

He became professor of Law in 1984, and he was subsequently named to be the founding Dean of Waseda’s School of International Liberal Studies in 2004, an interdisciplinary liberal arts program that has inspired similar undertakings throughout Asia.

His research field is Japanese Civil Law, he has published many articles and books on Japanese Civil Law, and was elected as a member of the Japan Science Council (Nihon Gakujutsu Kaigi).

Professor Uchida is also an acknowledged expert in international education and served as President of the Asia Pacific Association for International Education from 2014 to 2016.

He also served as President of the US-Japan Research Institute in Washington, DC, a joint undertaking by nine of Japan’s top universities to dispatch policy related researchers to the U.S. for 8 years.

Doctor LI Yansong

President, Shanghai International Studies University (SISU)
Vice Chair, SISU’s University Council

Doctor LI Yansong is President of Shanghai International Studies University (SISU) and Vice Chair of SISU’s University Council.

Prior to his current functions, he was Vice President of Peking University, where he worked for 30 years.

He obtained his Bachelor’s degree (1987), Master’s degree (1993) and Doctoral degree (2009) in international politics from Peking University.  From 1995 to 1997, he was an academic visitor at the University of California at Berkeley.

A scholar of political science and an expert in foreign affairs, he has been Director of the Edgar Snow Research Center and Director of the Center for International Higher Education at Peking University.

His research focuses primarily on international politics, international organizations and higher education management.  He has published a range of academic papers in topi-tier, peer-reviewed journals on the topics of globalization of education and international cooperation in higher education.

He has played key roles in multiple chapters at China Association of Higher Education, including the National Association of International Human Resources Development and the National Association of Research on Study Abroad.

Doctor Angelina YUEN

Executive Committee Member, BXAI
Academic Committee Member, BXAI
Senior Advisor to the President, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Doctor Angelina YUEN holds a Doctor of Philosophy (Social Work and Social Administration) and is Senior Advisor to the President of The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU), overseeing institutional advancement and global partnerships.

In Hong Kong, Professor Yuen has engaged extensively in a wide range of social services and government consultancy work.  She was appointed Justice of the Peace in 2002 and received the Bronze Bauhinia Star in 2008. Currently, Professor Yuen is a member of University Grants Committee.

Since the mid-1980s, Professor Yuen has taken an active role in spearheading social work education, university education and women’s development in China.  She is an Executive Committee member of the All-China Federation of Women, Advisor to the China Social Work Education Association as well as Honorary Advisor to the China Social Workers Association.  Professor Yuen is the Co-director of The Hong Kong Polytechnic University-Peking University China Social Work Research Centre and Co-director of Sichuan University-The Hong Kong Polytechnic University Institute for Disaster Management and Reconstruction.  She also holds positions of Honorary Professor and Visiting Professor at several top mainland and overseas universities.  In the international arena, Professor Yuen is a key player in international social work education development.  She was President of the International Association of Schools of Social Work from 2008 to 2012 – the first Chairperson from the Asia-Pacific region since its establishment 80 years ago.  In her various roles and capacities, Professor Yuen contributes greatly to the internationalization of social work education.