Bai Xian Asia Institute (BXAI) is pleased to announce that the Asian Future Leaders Scholarship Program (AFLSP or the Program) will operate under a new structure with effect from the 2020-21 academic year.

As an educational organization that continuously self-evaluates to ensure its outcomes meet key performance indicators, BXAI has always maintained a flexibility to amend its programs and partnership terms so as to react to changing needs and address performance gaps. Based on annual reviews of the AFLSP from the past five years, we have decided to restructure the Program in a way that allows us to better focus our efforts and resources to achieve more targeted results aligned with BXAI’s vision and mission.

From the 2020-21 academic year onwards, our university network will be limited to five key cities in East Asia, namely, Beijing, Hong Kong, Kyoto, Shanghai and Tokyo. We will also be consolidating our university partnerships to six in total, including: Hitotsubashi ICS, Kyoto University, Peking University, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology and Waseda University.

We sincerely thank all of our 16 Anchor and Participating Universities for their engagement and support since the inception of the Program. Each university has played an important role in the AFLSP’s growth and success, and for that we are very grateful.

We firmly believe that this necessary change will enable us to strengthen our programs and cultivate a deeper sense of community, thereby allowing us to make greater strides in line with our mission of bridging cultures and developing a new generation of Asian leaders.